The Village of Bones: Sabalah’s Tale by Mary Mackey

Prequel to the Earthsong Series.

“Mary Mackey’s The Village of Bones, gives us the vivid adventures of The Clan of the Cave Bear, the magic of The Mists of Avalon and Lord of the Rings, and the beauty of Avatar. Filled with the belief that love drives out fear, it contains stunning twists that will leave you wanting more.” —Dorothy Hearst, author of the Wolf Chronicles.

In 4386 B.C., a young priestess named Sabalah conceives a magical child with a mysterious stranger named Arash. Sabalah names the child Marrah. This child will save the Goddess-worshiping people of Europe from nomad invaders called eastmen, but only if her mother can keep her alive long enough to grow up. Warned in a vision of the coming invasion, Sabalah flees west with Arash to save her baby daughter, only to discover that she is running into the arms of her worst enemies. In the dark forests of northern Europe, other humanlike species left over from the Ice Age still exist.

Praise for the Earthsong Series and Mary Mackey.

“Grand adventure and a grand reading experience … sexy, explosive.” —Pat Conroy, author of The Prince of Tides.

“A fascinating evocation of a prehistoric world…” —Marion Zimmer Bradley, author of The Mists of Avalon.

[video_traffic_x_video id=”88″]

Visit Mary Mackey’s website.

Available at:

The Village of Bones: Sabalah's Tale by Mary Mackey

A Review
“Wow. I loved this book! It has everything: A peaceful Stone Age society in harmony with the earth, goddesses that walk on water, giant snakes that predict the future, passion, betrayal, a magical child who needs to be saved from Beastmen, and a sexy lover who’s more than human, not to mention shape-shifting; a little time travel, fully realized emotion, and some very scary giant sharks. I love the world Mackey created and hated to leave it when I got to the last page. And I love that she brings in some new real historical info about possible early human species. I found this is the first book in a series of four books. I’m buying all of them.”

~ Pamela Berkman.

About Mary Mackey

Untitled-1Mary Mackey is the author of fourteen novels including The Village of Bones: Sabalah’s Tale, The Year the Horses Came, The Horses at the Gate, and The Fires of Spring, all of which tell the story of Sabalah and Marrah’s struggle to save the Goddess-worshiping cultures of Neolithic Europe from nomad invaders. Her novels have appeared on The New York Times and San Francisco Chronicle bestseller lists, been translated into twelve languages, and longlisted for the James Tiptree, Jr Literary Award. She has also written seven volumes of poetry including Sugar Zone, winner of the 2012 PEN Oakland Josephine Miles Award for Literary Excellence. A screenwriter as well as a novelist and poet, Mary has sold feature-length scripts to Warner Brothers as well as to independent film companies. She sometimes writes comedy under her pen name Kate Clemens. At present, she lives in northern California with her husband Angus Wright.

You may also like

No Comment

Comments are closed.

Hi, I'm ROBIN.

I'd love to send you a FREE chapter from my award-winning book, The Improbable Wonders of Moojie Littleman. Just add your email below.

By signing up you agree to our terms